Skip to page body Home About Us Government Departments Doing Business Services I Want To...
News Review
Historical Commission Tabs Harris Commissioner of the Year
Posted Date: 11/22/2017


Sharon Harris, a member of the Fort Bend County Historical Commission's Cemetery Committee, was honored as the organization's 2017 Commissioner of the Year at its Nov. 21 quarterly meeting

Committee Chair Robert Crosser cited Ms. Harris for her seven years as "an outstanding and vital member" of the committee. She leads the committee's 10-member team in researching information regarding cemeteries and churches found in the voluminous deed records of Fort Bend County. In addition, she continuously monitors the conditions of what Mr. Crosser described as "seven highly endangered historic cemeteries.";"> Particular focus was placed on the contiguous counties of Brazoria, Colorado, Fort Bend, Matagorda and Wharton, Hudgins said, using data drawn from newspapers, diaries and court records, as well as previously published documentation "to give the reader insight into the time frame" prior to and following the war years of 1861-65.

Pictured during the award presentation are, from left, Robert Crosser, Sharon Harris and Commission Chair Charles Kelly. The award trophy is a wooden outline of the county sculpted by commission member Dr. Lee Knekow. Photo was taken by commission member Patricia McKnight.