Skip to page body Home About Us Government Departments Doing Business Services I Want To...

Expand All / Contract All

How do I learn more about pursuing a career in EMS?

Texas has five levels of certification. The highest is licensed paramedic, followed by EMT-P, EMT-intermediate, EMT-basic and emergency care attendant (ECA).

EMS degree programs are available, though many courses are offered through technical programs and others are approved through programs outside college settings. In Texas, EMS training programs are approved and monitored by staff in field offices located throughout the state. Contact the EMS Field Office nearest you.

Where is the administrative office of EMS located?
Visit our Contact Us page for more information.
What is EMS?
EMS is a network of services coordinated to provide aid and medical assistance from primary response to definitive care, involving personnel trained in the rescue, stabilization, transportation, and advanced treatment of traumatic or medical emergencies. Linked by a communication system that operates on both a local and a regional level, EMS is a tiered system of care, which is usually initiated by citizen action in the form of a telephone call to an emergency number (911). Subsequent stages include the emergency medical dispatch, first medical responder, ambulance personnel, medium and heavy rescue equipment, and paramedic units, if necessary. In the hospital, service is provided by emergency department nurses, emergency department physicians, specialists, and critical care nurses and physicians.